A Quote for the Weekend… or the Year

“The great thing in this world is not so much where we stand as in what direction we are moving.”

– Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr.  (American physician, professor, lecturer,
author, and mustache grower)

This quote headlined one of my very favorite blogs, The Happiness Project, a few weeks ago, and I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind.  It perfectly captures what I have been thinking a lot about this year…  certainly with the cross-country-for-no-reason-but-adventure move, but also in respect to what perhaps dominates the majority of my brain space – trying to find a career that makes me leap out of bed in the morning (among other things).

Sure, it can be easy to get overwhelmed by the question of “What should I be doing?”  But I’m learning that even just starting to move – reading books that inspire and interest me (thank you again, Gretchen), signing up for a 10-week photography workshop, starting a blog (and now sharing that with others – vulnerable!) – is the only thing that can help bring about an answer.

What did my high school physics teacher say about inertia?  It’s easier to keep going or even to turn around if you’re already moving, than if you’re starting from a dead stop.

So, I turn to this quote on a cold, nor’easter Friday that began with little productivity, and even a dose of negativity, but that has ended with energy and genuine excitement.

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

